Matthew de Leon, "Stars Fall Into Rain"

Summer Residency Rain Drawing

Matthew de Leon, "Stars Fall Into Rain"

“Stars Fall Into Rain”
8″ x 10″
Pen on paper
2011

This is a new drawing I made while visiting my parents in Florida. I’ve been working with this dense cloud of exploding stars, cloud, tears, and rain in some of my recent work. Whether it is a literal object or more abstract, I am trying to achieve something that is both emotive and potent. The expression of magic and melancholy come without trying. I recently read a review of Ryan Trecartin’s work by Roberta Smith, and she said something that struck me, “Queerness here is not a cause; it is a constant condition that has now permeated the culture at large”. I love this as I feel my work, in any of its forms,  is trying to go beyond just addressing a gay, sexuality, gender message, but having all those token elements inherently set in its construction.

Leave a Reply

