"You Don't Bring Me Flowers" sculpture/video by Matthew de Leon

“You Don’t Bring Me Flowers” Performance / Video (Felt Curtain)

I just finished editing and performing this piece. I am so excited to complete this project as I feel it shows the direction my work is taking. The curtain took me 6 months to create, which is the longest I have ever spent on one piece. My friend Suzanne Stroebe studio assisted me early in the process and helped cut felt petals. My other friend Diane Dwyer helped with the filming and lighting. Boyfriend Adam Kee was the vocal coach. Thank you all for the help! Here are pictures of the final piece and the video!

"You Don't Bring Me Flowers" sculpture/video by Matthew de Leon

"You Don't Bring Me Flowers" sculpture/video by Matthew de Leon

You Don’t Bring Me Flowers
sculpture/video
felt, cotton, rod / single-channel color video
2011

Leave a Reply

