Self-Portrait on Fire, by Matthew de Leon

Self-Portrait on Fire drawing

I just finished this drawing tonight and I have lately been thinking of Frida Kahlo, and her quote, “They thought I was a Surrealist, but I wasn’t. I never painted dreams. I painted my own reality.” Her absolute brilliance is unique and true to her soul and vision. It takes a lot of guts to go there. I hope to achieve this same level of bravery in my work. This portrait is how I’ve been feeling in a time of transition, loss, and a working towards self-empowerment.

Self-Portrait on Fire, by Matthew de Leon
Self-Portrait on Fire
Pencil on paper
2012
8″ x 10″

4 thoughts on “Self-Portrait on Fire drawing

  1. We have the ability to reinvent ourselves any time, especially if we don’t like the direction in which our life is going. We have free-will and choice. Once we pick our direction, it is up to us to take the required steps. If it is a new vocation you seek, you must be prepared to master the vocation by doing whatever duties the job entails. It most likely will not be glamorous, like sitting in a chair in front of a computer all day, but if this is what it takes, it is something you must do. Mastermind Coach Jeffery Combs states, “Success is not a pay-off, it is a process.” That means we must acquire and develop the skills that are required for the job in order to attain success. This may take a while enabling many people to give up because they don’t see instant results. Can you imagine if Michelangelo gave up?

Leave a Reply

